Home Page

Alfred Salter Primary School

Building strong relationships, celebrating difference and creativity today.
Inspiring individuals who will fulfil their potential as world citizens of tomorrow.

Our Governors

The Governing Body provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools.

Some of the key functions include:

– set aims and objectives for the school
– set targets and policies for achieving those aims and objectives
– monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making
– be a source of challenge and support to the Headteacher


The work of the Governing Body is undertaken by various committees and working groups, meeting throughout the year according to the termly Governors Meetings.  The main committees are:-

  • Finance and Premises
  • Staffing and Pay
  • Curriculum and Standards


Below you will find their names along with their responsibilities:

Name Type of Governor  Responsibility  Committees Served on  Term of Office
Elaine Garlick Chair of Governors, Local Authority 



All 21/11/2016 - 20/11/2020
Pauline Adenwalla  Vice Chair of Governor, Co-opted  Chair of Finance and Premises All 28/04/2015 - 27/04/2019
Elli Prestage Headteacher (Staff Governor)   All 01/09/2016 
Susan Geary Parent Governor Chair of Curriculum and Standards All 24/02/2016 - 23/02/2020
Joe Lewis Parent Governor   Curriculum and Standards   
Nicky Bisiriyu Co-opted Governor SEND Curriculum and Standards 15/03/2017 - 14/03/2020
Matthew Nicholas Co-opted Governor Chair of Pay 

Finance and Premises 

Curriculum and Standards

15/03/2017 - 14/03/2020
Dr Melanie Bottrill  Co-opted Governor  Chair of Staffing  Staffing and Pay 15/03/2017 - 14/03/2020
Alex Facey Staff Governor    All 12/02/2016 - 11/02/2020
Josie Olsen Staff Governor, Associate     Curriculum and Standards  21/11/2016 - 20/11/2020